The 2020 Pulitzer Prize winners

Undeterred by Covid-19 virus currently ravaging the world, the 2020 pulitzer prizes have been announced.

Dana Canedy, the administrator of the prizes made the announcement of the winners from her living room. “It goes without saying that today, we announce the Pulitzer winners in deeply trying times. Despite relentless assaults on objective truth, coordinated efforts to undermine our nation’s free press, and persistent economic headwinds, journalists continue to pursue and deliver essential facts and truths to keep us safe and protect our democracy.” The full list of winners was obtained from the prestigious organization’s website

The 2020 edition saw an inaugural award for audio reporting, which went to the staff of the public radio show and podcast, This American Life, along with Los Angeles Times reporter Molly O’Toole and Vice News freelance reporter Emily Green.

The Books, Drama & Music saw Colson Whitehead clinching the fiction category with his book titled The Nickel Boys and for biography, Benjamin Moser won for his work titled Sontag: Her Life and Work.

Under Drama, Michael, R. Jackson with his metafictional musical titled A Strange Loop clinched the category while Sweet Taste of Liberty: A True Story of Slavery and Restitution in America by W. Caleb McDaniel took the day for history.

The Tradition by Jericho Brown won for Poetry, while The Central Park Five by Anthony Davis won for Musical and for the General Nonfiction category, The end of Myth: From the Frontier to the Border Wall in the Mind of America by Greg Grandin and The Undying: Pain, Vulnerability, Mortality, Medicine, Art, Time, Dreams, Data, Exhaustion, Cancer, and Care won.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *